How and why did astrological signs change?

How and why did astrological signs change?
My called me today and told me I am now a Gemini according to astrology because they have added another sign. I did some research but could not really understand how this is possible. I was wondering if anyone could break this down for me.

Answer by Joel
THis article should explain it:

Answer by ♥SnuggleBum
That’s not a new thing it just crops up every so often. You are still your old sign.

Answer by Horoscope Matching
astrological signs become change according to sun signs

Answer by Mizzy Stury
The astrological signs changed because they added a new zodiac sign Ophiuchus and astrological signs are based on the sun’s correlation with the stars aligned with someone’s birth. The sun rotates on it’ s axis and the stars position shift, since everything is based on these two, it basically changed the signs. According to Joe Rao, a space columnist it’s old news that just kind of resurfaced.

Add your own answer in the comments!

Libertad discusses the most compatible signs with Capricorns and which signs to avoid. Intro and Outro designed by RavenProDesign. Go check out her website for more Custom Intros:
the signs and planets and how they work?
just a brief question. I read that each sign is associated with a planet and each planet is also connected to astrological signs as well but there are also exceptions like a gemini can have a water sign instead of a mercury sign but I also read that only mercury is gemini. how does this all work? And what about the moons, where do they come into play and how do they work.

Answer by Markab
The answer to your brief question would fill a book. And some of your information is a bit garbled. Here’s how it works and for simplicity’s sake, we’ll ignore Uranus, Neptune and Pluto until the end of this post.

There are 12 signs. There are 7 “planets” (astrologers also refer to the Sun and Moon as planets for simplicity’s sake). The Sun and Moon are said to “rule” one sign each, Leo and Cancer respectively. The remaining planets “rule” two signs each. To “rule” means to have influence over. It works this way:

Mercury: Gemini and Virgo
Venus: Taurus and Libra
Moon: Cancer
Sun: Leo
Mars Aries and Scorpio
Jupiter: Sagittarius and Pisces
Saturn: Capricorn and Aquarius.

Notice the order of the rulerships follows the old order of the planets:

Starting with Aries each sign is part of what is called a triplicity. There are 12 signs and three groups of 4 elements. So:
Aries: fire

Then it starts over with
Leo: fire
Virgo: earth and so on

Gemini, to use your example is an air sign and is never anything but an air sign. Mercury can and does occupy water signs now and again, but Gemini is never anything but air.

There is far more to this system, which has an inherent beauty unlike anything else, but then along came the outer planets.

Beginning in, I think 1787 the first trans-Saturn planet was discovered. Astrologers then weren’t real sure what to do with it and most adopted a “wait and see” attitude. I have a facsimile copy of a book published in 1828 or so, 40 years after its discovery that barely touches on Uranus.

This discovery was followed in 1846 by the discovery of Neptune and by the late 19th century most astrologers had assigned Uranus to Aquarius and Neptune to Pisces. The problem with this was it a) destroyed the magnificent symmetry and some of the philosophy of astrology,and b) it was arbitrary. The reasoning, if we can call it that, of the astrologers at the time, that planets rules signs because of a similarity of function and they rule things that were invented or discovered at the time of the planet’s discovery, wasn’t followed. If it were, dreamy, drugged up Neptune would rule the Gatling Gun and subsequent weapons of mass destruction.

Then Pluto was discovered in 1930 and for reasons even more obscure than any of the above, Pluto was assigned to Scorpio. This took about 4 years or less. Contrast that with how Uranus was treated. Ironically, of the three, this is probably the best fit.

Going back to the above: Mars “rules” Aries, so in a chart Mars will influence any houses that have Aries on the cusp as well as any planet that is in Aries. Mars is said to “disposit” those planets. So if you have Mercury in Aries, in order to fully understand Mercury in your chart, you also need to look at Mars and what it’s doing. If you have Mercury in Aries in the 9th house of religion, you might study theology, for example, but if at the same time Mars is in Gemini you might teach it, or become a minister, or even a missionary.

If by the “moons” you mean the satellites of the other planets, they aren’t used in astrology, or at least if they are, there are only a handful of obscure astrologers who use them. Some astrologers do use objects in the solar system other than planets. Some use asteroids, some use the so-called “hypothetical” planets that follow orbits that obey no known laws of physics. Then there is Chiron – another story. There is lots of stuff out there and some of it is interesting and some of it is bunk. There is more than enough that can be done with the 7 traditional planets alone.

Add your own answer in the comments!

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *